Indiana GOP Names New House Leaders, Stays The Course In Senate

Nov 5, 2014

Sen. David Long (R-Fort Wayne) will remain President Pro Tem, a title he's held since 1996.
Credit Indiana Senate Republicans /

House Republicans have a new member in their leadership for the first time in 12 years.

Rep. Eric Turner (R-Cicero) is set to vacate the House seat he won in Tuesday’s election.  Turner had been Speaker Pro Tem since Brian Bosma (R-Indianapolis) became Speaker of the House. 

House Republicans have elected to move Majority Floor Leader Bill Friend (R-Macy) to Turner’s spot as Speaker Pro Tem, while elevating  Jud McMillin (R-Brookville) to Friend’s old post. 

McMillin is the youngest member of the leadership team, both in age and experience. He says when the position came open, it’s one he thought he had the right skill set for.

“I enjoy going to the microphone – maybe more than I should – and I know this is a position that has to do those types of things," he says.  "I like to do the work of public policy and I like to dig deep into the bills.”

Rep. Kathy Richardson (R-Noblesville) will remain the caucus chair. 

Both Senate caucuses also chose their leadership teams.  David Long (R-Fort Wayne) will remain Senate President Pro Tem, while Jim Merritt (R-Indianapolis) will continue as caucus chair. 

Senate Democrats reelected Tim Lanane (D-Anderson) as Minority Leader, with Jean Breaux (D-Indianapolis) retaining her role as Assistant Leader and Jim Arnold (D-LaPorte) remaining caucus chair. 

House Democrats are set to elect their leadership team Thursday.