Elections & Politics

Brandon Smith / Indiana Public Broadcasting

Mayor Wayne Seybold (R-Marion) is the first candidate to officially announce a run for the open Indiana State Treasurer position. With current Treasurer Richard Mourdock stepping down due to term limits, the race in 2014 is wide open.

Seybold is serving his third term as mayor and was a city councilman in Marion prior to 2003.  He unsuccessfully ran for Congress in Indiana’s 5th District last year.

Seybold says he will use his experience in city government to connect the State Treasurer’s office to the local level.

Tippecanoe County’s election board counted 132 ballots that weren’t included in the November 6th results.

But, the combination of provisional and absentee ballots did not change any outcome.

Clerk Christa Coffey says the board rejected some of them based on several factors.

“The primary reason a provisional ballot would not have been counted is they weren't a registered voter, or they weren't a registered voter in Tippecanoe County, or there was an I-D issue that they had an out of state drivers license or some other issue," she said.

Brandon Smith / Indiana Public Broadcasting

The transition from Governor Mitch Daniels to Governor-elect Mike Pence is underway as Pence has begun to assemble his transition team.

Daniels says his administration is eager to help make the transition a smooth one, allowing the new one to hit the ground running.  Pence began the process by naming his long-time congressional chief of staff Bill Smith head of the transition team.

Pence praised the Daniels team and says his transition will be committed to continuity.

After months of assumption that he’d win the race easily, it came as little surprise Tuesday when Republican Congressman Mike Pence was elected the 50th governor in state history. 

Though the race appeared to narrow in recent weeks, Pence’s lead was too much to overcome for Democrat John Gregg.  Pence’s platform throughout the campaign was positive, rarely engaging in what were almost constant attacks from Gregg. 

Hershman elected to fourth term in Senate

Nov 7, 2012

Brandt Hershman believes Indiana is moving in the right direction and he thinks that is the reason voters chose him for another term.

"I think it's a reflection that many people feel that, even in an uncertain economy nationwide, that Indiana has largely been on the right track, by limiting our spending and focusing on our core priorities," he said.

The State Senator representing District Seven defeated Democratic challenger Brad Thompson for the seat that includes Jasper, White, Carroll, Tippecanoe, Clinton, and Boone counties.

Truitt tops Cornstuble in HD26 race

Nov 7, 2012

House District 26 voters are sticking with the incumbent.

Republican Randy Truitt defeated Democrat Rick Cornstuble in the district that includes parts of Lafayette, West Lafayette, and Tippecanoe County.

"It's humbling," said Truitt.  "It's a humbling deal. It'll be great to go back down and represent the district where I was born and raised and am now raising my family.  So, it's kind of a neat thing."

Klinker wins HD27; Will serve 16th term

Nov 7, 2012

State Representative Sheila Klinker will serve a 16th term in the Indiana General Assembly.

The Democrat was picked to represent District 27, defeating Republican Chuck Hockema.

Because of redistricting, Klinker will represent some new constituents in the district that includes Lafayette and parts of Wabash Township.

"I am very eager to represent this area," she said.  "So, I will work very hard to get their support and to let them know that I am in their corner."

One newcomer elected to Tippecanoe County Council

Nov 7, 2012

Republicans will continue to hold all the seats on the Tippecanoe County Council.

Incumbents Kevin Underwood and John Basham won re-election. Bryan Metzger will fill the seat being vacated by Kathy Vernon.

Democrat Robb Haywood came up about 1,800 votes short. Libertarian Randy Young won about 9% of the vote.

Republicans also won re-election to the county treasurer, surveyor and coroner offices without opposition.
 Commissioners David Byers and Tom Murtaugh also were re-elected without an opponent.

Republican Jane Turner will be Benton County’s new recorder.

She had a three-to-one margin of victory over Democrat Christine McPeters. Her election comes after narrowly defeating the current deputy recorder in the May Primary Election.

Also in Benton County, there will be three new members on the county council.

Republicans Bruce Buchanan, Jack Duncan, and Jack Steele won election. Incumbent Democrat George Patrick Scherer and Democrat Devon Fritz fell short in the race for the three at-large county council seats.

Negele wins IN House District 13 race

Nov 7, 2012

A Republican won the open seat in Indiana House District 13. The district includes all or parts of eight counties: Benton, Fountain, Jasper, Montgomery, Newton, Tippecanoe, Warren and White.

Sharon Negele claimed roughly 59% of the vote over Democrat Mark Straw. She says she’s excited, humbled and proud to represent the district.

"I thought it was a very civil race. I really enjoyed getting to know a lot of people in the area, which I never ventured to before, because it's a brand new district. Overall, it was a clean, comfortable race."