Nicholas Photinos

Lacy Clare

eighth blackbird is a sextet based in Chicago, composed of flute, clarinet, piano, percussion, violin, and cello. The group derived its name from the eighth stanza of Wallace Stevens' poem Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Blackbird:

I know noble accents

And lucid, inescapable rhythms;

But I know, too,

That the blackbird is involved

In what I know.

2016 marks 20 years for the ensemble, and we’ll celebrate by talking with founding member, cellist Nicholas Photinos and hear some of their stellar recordings on What’s New!