Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Three finalists chosen for next Indiana Supreme Court justice

Lauren Chapman

The list of candidates to be the next Indiana Supreme Court justice is down to three.

The state’s Judicial Nominating Commission chose three finalists for the governor to choose from, after hours of interviews Tuesday.

The Judicial Nominating Commission is made up of the chief justice of the Indiana Supreme Court, three non-attorneys chosen by the governor and three attorneys from around the state picked by fellow lawyers.

The commission narrows the group of applicants for the Supreme Court down to three that the governor then chooses from.

Join the conversation and sign up for the Indiana Two-Way. Text "Indiana" to 73224. Your comments and questions in response to our weekly text help us find the answers you need on statewide issues.

The three candidates to replace retiring Justice Steven David are Justin Forkner, Dana Kenworthy and Derek Molter.

Forkner is the chief administrative officer for the Indiana Supreme Court. Kenworthy is a Grant County judge. And Molter is a judge on the Indiana Court of Appeals.

The governor has about two months to name his choice.

Contact reporter Brandon at or follow him on Twitter at @brandonjsmith5.

Copyright 2022 IPB News. To see more, visit .

Brandon Smith is excited to be working for public radio in Indiana. He has previously worked in public radio as a reporter and anchor in mid-Missouri for KBIA Radio out of Columbia. Prior to that, he worked for WSPY Radio in Plano, Illinois as a show host, reporter, producer and anchor. His first job in radio was in another state capitol, in Jefferson City, Missouri, as a reporter for three radio stations around Missouri. Brandon graduated from the University of Missouri-Columbia with a Bachelor of Journalism in 2010, with minors in political science and history. He was born and raised in Chicago.