Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Indiana GOP Names New House Leaders, Stays The Course In Senate

Indiana Senate Republicans

House Republicans have a new member in their leadership for the first time in 12 years.

Rep. Eric Turner (R-Cicero) is set to vacate the House seat he won in Tuesday’s election.  Turner had been Speaker Pro Tem since Brian Bosma (R-Indianapolis) became Speaker of the House. 

House Republicans have elected to move Majority Floor Leader Bill Friend (R-Macy) to Turner’s spot as Speaker Pro Tem, while elevating  Jud McMillin (R-Brookville) to Friend’s old post. 

McMillin is the youngest member of the leadership team, both in age and experience. He says when the position came open, it’s one he thought he had the right skill set for.

“I enjoy going to the microphone – maybe more than I should – and I know this is a position that has to do those types of things," he says.  "I like to do the work of public policy and I like to dig deep into the bills.”

Rep. Kathy Richardson (R-Noblesville) will remain the caucus chair. 

Both Senate caucuses also chose their leadership teams.  David Long (R-Fort Wayne) will remain Senate President Pro Tem, while Jim Merritt (R-Indianapolis) will continue as caucus chair. 

Senate Democrats reelected Tim Lanane (D-Anderson) as Minority Leader, with Jean Breaux (D-Indianapolis) retaining her role as Assistant Leader and Jim Arnold (D-LaPorte) remaining caucus chair. 

House Democrats are set to elect their leadership team Thursday. 

Brandon Smith is excited to be working for public radio in Indiana. He has previously worked in public radio as a reporter and anchor in mid-Missouri for KBIA Radio out of Columbia. Prior to that, he worked for WSPY Radio in Plano, Illinois as a show host, reporter, producer and anchor. His first job in radio was in another state capitol, in Jefferson City, Missouri, as a reporter for three radio stations around Missouri. Brandon graduated from the University of Missouri-Columbia with a Bachelor of Journalism in 2010, with minors in political science and history. He was born and raised in Chicago.