Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Municipal Elections See State Experiencing Major Shifts In Power

Dan Goldblatt
Indiana Public Media

 More than a third of Indiana's contested mayoral races produced a change in party control.

In 75 cities, voters threw out 13 incumbent mayors and opted to switch parties in 14 more, headlined by Democrat Joe Hogsett’s victory in Indianapolis.

The G-O-P suffered a net loss of four City Halls. But the beneficiary wasn’t Democrats but Independents, who won in Southport, Delphi, Greendale and Mitchell.

With the exception of Hogsett in Indy, Democrat Thomas Broderick's win in Anderson and Republican Tim Neese's victory in Elkhart, Indiana's largest cities stayed with their incumbents.

Democrats won comfortably in Fort Wayne and overwhelmingly in Gary, Hammond, East Chicago, South Bend, Lafayette and Bloomington.

Republicans were reelected easily in Evansville and narrowly in Terre Haute, where Mayor Duke Bennett eked out a 315-vote win.

Jasper Mayor Terry Seitz's reelection battle against Democrat Wayne Schuetter ended in a tie at 48-percent apiece. If a recount doesn't give one candidate victory, the outgoing city council, where Democrats hold a 4-3 majority, will break the tie.

Related Content