Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Indiana Primary Ballot Closes With 63 Federal Candidates

Joe Hall

Eleven presidential candidates and 52 congressional hopefuls have filed for Indiana's primary ballot.

All eight remaining Republican presidential candidates have qualified for the ballot, along with Sen. Rand Paul (R-KY), who quit the race the same day his campaign turned in his petition signatures.

Hillary Clinton and Bernie Sanders (D-VT) will appear on the Democratic ballot.

All seven U.S. House members seeking reelection in Indiana will first have to survive primary challenges.

Many of those opponents are perennial candidates, but Congressman Larry Bucshon (R-8th) faces a conservative challenge from fellow surgeon Richard Moss.

The most crowded race is for the opening created by Marlin Stutzman's (R-3rd) Senate campaign.

Six GOP candidates and four Democrats are seeking their party’s nomination in the heavily Republican district.

The Republican field includes State Senators Jim Banks (R-Columbia City) and Liz Brown (R-Fort Wayne), former Wisconsin State Representative Pam Galloway (R-WI), and agribusiness owner Kip Tom of Leesburg.

Six state senators have primary opponents, including two of the chamber's most powerful figures.

President Pro Tem David Long (R-Fort Wayne) faces a Tea Party-backed challenge from IPFW economics professor John Kessler, while Senate Appropriations Chairman Luke Kenley (R-Noblesville) will take on Westfield businessman Scott Willis.

Filing for the primary closed at noon Friday.

Related Content