Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Filing Closes for May's Primary Ballot

The primary race for the Indiana state house is taking shape.

Republican Don Lehe is seeking re-election, but in a newly drawn district.

He will face a primary challenge from fellow Republican Franklyn Voorhies in District 25, which includes parts of Tippecanoe, White, Cass, Carroll, and Clinton counties

In District 13, which touches parts of eight counties including Benton, Fountain, and Tippecanoe, three candidates filed for the Republican nomination.  Dan Young, Sharon Negele, and Stephen Aichner are all running.

District 38, made up of portions of Clinton, Carroll, Cass, Howard, and Miami has a two person race for the GOP nomination. Heath VanNatter and Stephen Wilson are on May’s primary ballot.

While no Democrats filed to run in these districts, the party can still slate a candidate before November’s election.

In District 26, Rick Cornstuble and Eric Thiel are seeking the Democrats’ nomination to face incumbent Randy Truitt.

District 27 State Representative Sheila Klinker does not have a primary challenger, but she will face Republican Chuck Hockema in November.

Nine candidates will fight for three Tippecanoe County Council At-Large seats.

The list of candidates was finalized Friday, which was the last day to file for the May Primary.

Kathy Vernon is the only incumbent not seeking re-election.