Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Hoosiers Lee Hamilton, William Ruckelshaus Among 17 Receiving Presidential Medal Of Freedom

A Celebration of Women

 Hoosiers Lee Hamilton and William Ruckelshaus are among the 17 Americans receiving the Presidential Medal of Freedom this year, the White House announced on Monday.

Hamilton served in the U.S. House of Representatives for more than 40 years and served as Vice Chair of the 9/11 Commission. He now leads the Center on Congress at Indiana University.

Ruckelshaus, originally from Indianapolis, served in the Indiana House of Representatives and as the first administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is the nation’s highest civilian honor.

The awards will be presented at the White House on Nov. 24. Other honorees include Steven Spielberg, Barbara Streisand and Itzhak Perlman.

Related Content